Drawing Women’s Cancer is on the move!

I will be giving a paper entitled Speaking the Unspeakable: exploring the lived experience of gynaecological disease through visual language: a patient centred approach at theNarrative Future for Healthcare Conference, Kings Guys Hospital Campus in London,June 19-21, 2013

(https://www.kcl.ac.uk/innovation/groups/chh/Narrative-Medicine-conference-/About-the-conference.aspx)

In August I will be giving a paper entitled, The Argument of Images: narrative diversity in cancer care at the ‘Attentive Writers’: Healthcare, Authorship and Authority Conference, at the Medical Humanities Research Centre, University of Glasgow.

(http://www.gla.ac.uk/schools/critical/research/conferences/attentivewriters/)

Best of all, I have just been awarded a Visiting Scholarship by the good people at the University of Texas Institute for Medical Humanities! My tenure is for two months – October and November of this year – and I will be using the time to structure a monograph that documents the Drawing Women’s Cancer project since its inception.

5 thoughts on “Drawing Women’s Cancer is on the move!

  1. Hi Jac,
    So sorry it as taken me so long to reply. I am glad the feedback was useful – illness, whether it is mental or physical is so often hard to digest – not just for the person concerned but also for the families. Sadly another friend died a few months later – of cancer again – but how they treated their illness – even though they lived just a few doors apart (which does scare me a little) and were of a similar mindset was very different. Laurie – the friend who worked in healthcare, was very public – and used to tell us all day by day what was happening and how she was feeling (via facebook) and what as happening in the houshold – funny stories about her children etc. However, Viv, my other friend kept it a secret from her family and friends- including her fiance, parents and teenage daughter. So when the time came – it was aspace of 4 hours from the family knowing to her dying. In Viv’s case I think she wanted to deal with it privately and savour normal life. I am not sure how much she was burying herself from it – she was making wedding plans with her fiance. But knowing what a good soul she was, and knowing that she was the driving force in keeping her large family together, she knew what was best for all concerned. This project will help those women that struggle to find a way forward – that struggle to come to temrs with what is happening. It will also help those who perhaps do know to reflect more – – or to share thoughts and feelings/ fears amd hopes in an environemnt and relationship that is not particular to their domestic and everyday life. Best Wishes
    Emma

  2. Hi Emma
    Very sorry to hear about your friend but I am glad ( and quite humbled) by the thought that the work I am doing may have helped her even in a small way. It is a powerful project in many ways but even more so for me when I have feedback like this.
    During the residency I will have the time to put together lots of documentation and art work that has come out of the project to date from both before and after the first exhibition.
    I look forward the to continuing the conversation.
    Best wishes
    Jac

  3. Jac, this is fantastic news and I look forward to hearing all about the Texas residency and seeing the work that is produced. Sadly, one of my friends died of cancer not long ago and she greatly appreciated me sharing your images and website with her. Proffessionaly she worked in healthcare, so she was interested in your work from both angles, I know it would have been of some help to her. This is an invaluable project.

  4. Thanks Jill
    While at Glaveston I hope to regularly update this blog and also to begin a twitter account to document the progression of my work on a monograph designed to push forward the Drawing Women’s Cancer project as a whole. It will be the precursor I hope to a second major exhibition in the not too distant future.
    So, watch this space!
    Best wishes
    Jac

Leave a Reply

